SCHEME FOR THE APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN AND HONORARY ALDERWOMEN OF BATH AND NORTH EAST SOMERSET

The Council has adopted a Scheme for appointing as Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen of Bath and North East Somerset, those former councillors who have been appointed to this honorary office by resolution of the Full Council in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

The requirement for appointment as an Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman is based on the following criteria being met;

- The former Councillor shall have served 12 cumulative years or, if they have served for a lesser period, to have occupied the position of the Chair of Bath and North East Somerset Council during their period as a councillor. (This requirement can be varied to recognise exceptional service that does not meet the qualifying period upon the recommendation of the Leader of the Council);
- 2. Service be counted on Bath & North East Somerset Council and its predecessor principal authorities, provided the Councillor has served a full 4 year term on Bath & North East Somerset Council;
- 3. The scheme applies to all former Councillors with some service on Bath & North East Somerset Council, irrespective of the date on which they left office.

The names of the former councillors proposed for this honour shall be presented to Full Council upon the recommendation of the Leader of the Council following consultation with the other Political Group Leaders. A Special Meeting of the Full Council shall be held to consider the Leader's recommendations and confer the title of Honorary Alderman / Honorary Alderwomen on the former councillors nominated.

Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen of Bath and North East Somerset shall enjoy the following privileges:

- 1. To have their names inscribed in the Roll of Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen contained in a bound leather book to be held by the Chief Executive.
- 2. To have their names considered for inclusion in the lists of persons to whom invitations are sent for civic receptions and other civic functions or ceremonies hosted by the Chair on behalf of the Council.
- 3. To enjoy whatever other facilities are offered to the Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen as shall be determined by the Chief Executive following consultation with the Political Group Leaders.

4. To be entitled to describe themselves on public occasions and in correspondence as an Honorary Alderman or an Honorary Alderwoman of Bath and North East Somerset.

Approved 15th September 2011

HONORARY ALDERMEN/WOMEN - FORMER B&NES COUNCILLORS

Previously appointed by Avon County Council Betty Perry (deceased)

Appointed 18 June 2012

Sheila Bateman W A (Tony) Cox (deceased) Matt Davis Trevor Deacon OBE (deceased) Alan French (deceased) Phyllis Gay Marian Hammond (deceased) David Hawkins (deceased) Lynda Hedges Adrian Inker Sir Elgar Jenkins OBE (deceased) Jim Lingard Marian McNeir MBE Peter Metcalfe Carol Paradise Walter (Terry) Reakes Tom Rees-Mogg Les Sell Bruce Shearn Sheila Sheppard (deceased) Shirley Steel Julie Stiddard Michael John Whittock (deceased) Gordon Wood (deceased)

Appointed 8 May 2014

Ruth Griffiths Ray Cliffe (deceased) [Chris Dando – re-elected as Councillor 2015]

Appointed 16 July 2015

Malcolm Hanney (deceased) Peter Edwards (deceased)

Appointed 16 Sept 2015

Sharon Ball David Bellotti (posthumously) Bryan Chalker Gerry Curran Dave Dixon Loraine Morgan-Brinkhurst Brian Webber Appointed 13th June 2019 Colin Barrett Cherry Beath John Bull Charles Gerrish Ian Gilchrist (deceased) Francine Haeberling Les Kew Marie Longstaff Barry Macrae Bryan Organ Will Sandry Martin Veal [Tim Warren - re-elected as Councillor 2023]

Appointed 15th June 2023 Rob Appleyard

Rob Appleyard Sarah Bevan Neil Butters Sally Davis Doug Deacon Michael Evans Andrew Furse Paul Myers Lisa O'Brien Vic Pritchard Brian Simmons Chris Watt